top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Updated: May 19, 2021

Legend of a Cowgirl, Imani Coppola, 1997


It's day one of spring break 2021 and I post this song as an ode to starting over. Not only is spring on our doorsteps yet again, hopefully, we're on the backside of this year-long global pandemic. As the planet spins and the seasons change, life is naturally cyclical and I know a renewal is coming.


There are so many empowering songs by and about powerful women. This song, although jaunty on the surface, is full of honesty. I hold it as my hardcore theme song. It's funny how people inevitably perceive us differently than we perceive ourselves. I think this song reflects the complexity of my independent spirit. And by the way, it's in the running to be my walk-up song, too.


There's an unapologetic truth and poetic sentiment to the lyrics that's like adrenaline. There's the funky fiddle riff that is unexpected but essential to the song's vibe. Then there's the age-old metaphor of the freedom of simply packing up and moving on to see what else may be in store. No fear. Owning the past but forever with an eye on a better future.

https://youtu.be/n26hAOmkmFE



13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page