top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day


Still Loving You, Scorpions, 1984


I heard this song yesterday and was immediately transported to my very first concert. A quick Google search tells me I was 13 when I saw the Scorpions at the VBCC in Huntsville. Bon Jovi opened for them ... It wasn't that I was a fan or anything, I won the tickets on the radio.


Who else remembers calling in to radio stations? Whether request lines or contests, if the DJ said, "be the 10th caller" we dove for the phone. We didn't give up on trying to get through until the DJ announced a winner. I don't remember much about the day I actually got through and won the tickets ... I do know it was that concert that hooked me on live music.


BTW, the local radio station I listen to at work is the same station I listened to growing up. WQLT -- great classics and best of today. It's kind of cool because the station is still owned and operated by Sam Phillips' granddaughter, Halley Phillips. My office is just a few blocks from where Sam Phillips was born.


Happy Monday!




8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

ความคิดเห็น


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page