top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day



Perfect Drug, Nine Inch Nails, 1997


Wow. So that was a turbulent night -- thank you, storms. I did not sleep much and I definitely did not sleep well. My subconscious is here for me, though ... this song is looping in my head right now as I simmer and I'm not mad.


I have a love/hate relationship with NIN. NIN is one of the few bands that I absolutely have to be in the "right mood" to listen to. I saw where my friend, Josh, was listening to the Downward Spiral a few days ago and that opened the floodgate for a Reznor lovefest.


This song is an odd standalone in the NIN  catalog since it was written for David Lynch's Lost Highway. You know, in my mind, it almost doesn't even count as I NIN song ... it's just too commercial.


Lyrically speaking, the verses in this song are some top of the list favorites for me. Love, love, love the masterful phrases. The chorus is so lame, though,  that it hurts my soul. The arrangement kind of plays out like that for me, too. It's so intricate and interesting except for during the chorus. The video follows suit, too -- super cool up to a point then ridiculously lame. Hmmm.


I hope I find my perfect drug.


Happy Saturday!


https://youtu.be/dn3j6-yQKWQ

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page