top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day


Angel of the Morning, Juice Newton, 1981


Of all the ways to describe me, angel of the morning would not even be on the radar. Sure, I'm a morning person but I'm no angel.


I heard this song at least twice this week on the local radio station that's my companion during the workday. I absolutely love this song. It's actually my first ever favorite song -- or at least its the first one I remember. It's so dramatic. It's so 80s. From that first note, I'm poised with my air mic ready to perform. Sing it, Juice. Sing it, Monica.


This song is also very special to me because it triggers a memory. It makes me think of my best friend from kindergarten, Tanya.


For a few years when I was in preschool, my family moved to Scottsboro. After we returned to Florence, Tanya and her family visited us several times. The last time they visited, Tanya and I didn't have a great time. We had grown apart. Liking this single ... this 45 ... was the only thing we seemed to have in common anymore. This song made that awkward visit bearable. Music brings us together. Music is a bridge.


Happy Saturday!


https://youtu.be/HTzGMEfbnAw


12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page