top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day



Rhinoceros, Smashing Pumpkins, 1991


My youngest son (27) and I share a lot of the same tastes in music. This past week, we were in the car together quite a bit and shared some quality Lithium time -- Smashing Pumpkins in heavy rotation. Have you seen the meme about SP "fans" who say "rat in a cage" is their favorite song? Yeah. I'm judging. BTW, "She knows" is one of my SP favorites.


I've been fighting melancholy and the infinite sadness lately. The universe keeps putting music in my path to give me clarity. I was finally able to spend some time in my favorite record store -- Dr. Music in Fairhope. Within minutes, I put my hands on two live Smashing Pumpkins albums of shows from the 90s. Kismet. Pure joy. Dr. Music, you know me so well.


I love Dr. Music ... my kind of unexpected 90s inventory and my kind of people. It never fails, my annual visit always becomes a Shoals lovefest. How cool is it that those guys miles and miles away understand the magic of my hometown? Sincerity. Authenticity. Joy. Dr. Music is a very special place.


Happy Saturday!


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page