top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day


Cowboy Take Me Away, Dixie Chicks (The Chicks), 1999


Road trip playlists are the best. I love traveling with my boys. Our musical tastes are so very different but put us in a vehicle for a few hours and we're on the same page with our tried and true favorites. We become the most fabulousy bizarre trio you've ever seen/heard. No matter how much time passes, we revel in singing every word to every song on our favorite albums -- Wide Open Spaces and Fly included.


I've never done karaoke before but I feel certain this would be a go-to song for me. Y'all, I can't sing but your girl can sang this song. It's one of those songs that releases every bit of pent-up energy inside me. It fills me with overflowing joy that is completely cathartic. I am demanding happiness, cowboy, because I deserve happiness.


And oh my my my, this song transforms me into a dancing fool. That fiddle, yo. That attitude, yo. There's this perfect melding of a ballerina slam dancing. That's me.


Happy Spring Break! Stay safe, friends.




8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page