top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day



Mine is Gold, State Champs, 2018


I don't care for State Champs or for this song. When I hear State Champs, though, I think of someone who DOES like the band ... it makes me smile to think about that remarkable person. It's so cool that I don't have to like a song for it to trigger a positive memory.


Ahhh. State Champs ... what's known as (ahem) pop punk. I'm also guilty of further defining the ... ugh ... pop punk genre as bubblegum laced with punk wannabe tendencies. I get it -- the music is full-on pop but the look (and to some degree, attitude) is intentionally stereotypical commercialized "punk." Not a fan.


Newsflash: "Good" music is subjective and it's more fun when we disagree. This just in: Music lovers love to talk about music. Discussing music with someone quite a bit younger or older than you can be edifying.


Happy Saturday!

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page