top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day


Dancing in the Dark, Bruce Springsteen, 1984


Bruce tells my truth in this song.


Self-care Sunday came and went. I did my absolute level best to recharge. Being sick all this past week and "working from home" (sick) 3 of the 5 days took its toll on my body and spirit.


I'm behind on everything -- schoolwork, housework, work work. I'm fallen so behind on self-care that I may be past the point of no return. Bottom line is: I always come last -- that has to change.


Going from a workplace where taking any time off was frowned upon to one where the lip service is very much a "self-care" message is confusing. It's confusing because the outcome is no different one culture to the other. Worker bees are expected to work ... regardless/no matter what. Newsflash: Expectations of worker bees are terribly out of sync with compensation.


Only 15 work days until Spring Break.







11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page