top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day



Foolin', Def Leppard, 1983


This week has been a long, hard "journey" to accepting some difficult truths. How I choose to use this newfound information remains to be seen. I don't know much but I do know my immediate future involves reveling in comfort music from the 80s.


From the second I heard that bizarre intro to Rock of Ages when Def Leppard became an Mtv darling in 1983, I knew we were going to be lifelong friends. I'm a huge fan. Def Leppard is absolutely one of the top 10 bands of my formidable years. (BTW, wow, that would be a hard list to make and keep it to 10.)


One bar of this song and I'm 12 again dramatically singing into a hairbrush. The opening verse is one of the best ever written. It just is. Now, Foolin' is not my favorite Def Leppard song but I love it so much. It has a hold on me that is undeniable. The one day I ventured out this week -- to have a Covid test -- I heard Foolin' and it brought me back to life. It's been in my head since Wednesday ...


Is there anybody out there?




9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page