top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Updated: Mar 14, 2021

Today's Song of the Day

My Sharona, The Knack, 1979

My Sharona (cover), Veruca Salt, 1995


Some songs just make me smile. My Sharona is one of those songs. It's good for a great big smirky smile time after time. The original is good ... no, I'll go there -- the original is great. BUT, the Veruca Salt cover has so much feel-good gritty fun swag that it's what I listen to most often. It brings out my funky slow motion 70s go-go dancer gyrations. It makes me feel so bad ass. And yeah, like so many others --

https://secondhandsongs.com/performance/4963, I would definitely cover this when I'm fronting the fantasy band that lives in my imagination.


Not gonna lie, though, my friends and I mocked this song back in the day. It's just so different -- like that unapologetically quirky person who marches to their own drum. As kids, it didn't seem like a real song to us. Subliminal defense mechanisms sometimes trigger us to ridicule that which we do not understand. We nervously laugh at things that don't fit neatly into clearly defined boxes.


I would be remiss if I didn't mention one of my favorite Nirvana interviews is where they groove on My Sharona -- any rabid Nirvana fans out there who know the interview I'm talking about?






10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page