top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day


Three Little Birds, Bob Marley & The Wailers, 1977


I've been thinking a lot ... nothing new, it's just what I do. I've been thinking a lot about songs that are very important to me that maybe don't fit into a neat little predictable box.


I remember the first time I heard reggae. I was maybe 6 years old playing in our backyard on a beautiful spring (or summer) day. Our neighbors had people over -- music was floating out of their house. I didn't know it was reggae but I trust my memory and it absolutely was. Needless to say, my mother didn't think too much of our neighbors at the time.


I don't see this trait too much in rising generations but for us older people, we get a little hung up on defining music by genres. I'm sure it's because of being raised on radio, which, of course, is the ultimate music genre sorter. It's weird, though, to think about the music we embrace that originated outside our comfort zones and somehow made it into our inner circles.


I am so glad Bob Marley found me. Thank you, universe.https://youtu.be/HNBCVM4KbUM



Happy Saturday!

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Komentáre


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page