top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day


Whatta Man, Salt-N-Pepa (feat. En Vogue), 1993


Here we go ... Monday. Again. Watch out world, this has been my earworm now for a little more than 24 hours and I ain't mad. Self-care Sunday came and went but at least I'm left with the eternally inspirational power that is one of the greatest female collaborations in history. That's right -- Whatta Man is the fuel giving me strength to face this day.


My version of normal has me reciting these lyrics in my head pretty dang often. They're just completely brilliant, y'all. And, yes, I sing all the parts and can seamlessly step in and out of corresponding personas as seen in the video.


Looking back, Salt-N-Pepa played a pretty big role in shaping my views regarding strong women. Not only were they successful females in a male-dominated industry and genre, these women took on taboo topics with class. They destroyed gender stereotypes with intelligence. You know what? It's OK for females to talk about sex.

Pay attention: Good men are hard to find.


https://youtu.be/


10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page