top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day



Another One Bites the Dust, Queen, 1980


I'm five months in to this new gig and although it's not without its challenges, I think it's going pretty well. I'm still getting to know my new co-workers but wow, they're pretty amazing.


One day last week, my next door officemate started our day with a little walk down a Queen-paved memory lane and I wasn't mad at all. He and his son had heard Another One Bites the Dust during the car ride to school that morning and had a bonding moment. Ahhh ... Queen: still gifting memory-making magic.


Another One Bites the Dust was my gateway song to the absolute joy that is Queen. My officemate (who also just happens to be my boss) is the same age as my younger brother. It's pretty cool because I haven't worked with many contemporaries over the years. It was great starting the day talking about Queen and 45s and B-sides and backward masking. It's so weird how I can't remember why I walked into a room but I can tell you that Don't Try Suicide was the B-side to the Another One Bites the Dust 45 from 1980.


I love this song. It's an automatic reaction -- I sing and dance along every single time I hear it just like I did when I was 11.


Happy Saturday!



16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page