top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day



Middle of the Road, Pretenders, 1983


In a sea of really good hard-rocking bands, The Pretenders grabbed me way back in the 80s. It was 1983 and Middle of the Road shook me. It shook me hard -- still does. One of my all-time favorite songs. I had never heard anything like it. The Mtv era helped really pound it into my soul. Middle of the Road still sets me on fire. It revives me ... thank goodness for music.


At 12 years old, the Middle of the Road video was likely the first time I felt the power of hero worship. When it comes to rock icons, Chrissie Hynde sets the bar so high. That voice. That vibe. Of course, I wasn't conscious of it when I was a kid but Chrissie Hynde is a badass unicorn.


To this day, I never go too long without a full-on Pretenders binge. I never get my fill. I could talk about The Pretenders all day ... we'll save the Brass in Pocket conversation for another day.

27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page