top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day


Paradise by the Dashboard Light, Meat Loaf, 1977


So, Meat Loaf died and I'm feeling it.


I'm a little ashamed to admit I was in my early 30s before I really listened to "Bat Out of Hell." Before that, Meat Loaf was simply that cool motorcycle guy from Rocky Horror. Sure, I was familiar with his hits but they didn't really resonate with me until one of my older friends suggested I listen to his entire signature album -- yes, hello "Bat Out of Hell."


This song is so special ... it's epic. I can remember hearing it as a kid, though, and thinking it was kind of incessant. Kind of cheesy, too. I didn't appreciate it at all. Ahhh, but it was magical when it finally clicked with me. I loved my 30s -- so many great lightbulb moments.


This is one of those songs, too, that I need the younger generation to love and appreciate as much as I do but it rarely happens. It's a test they mostly fail ... until I tell them, "Meat Loaf was in Rocky Horror." That changes everything.


Turn it up. Sing it loud and proud.








9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page