top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Updated: Mar 13, 2021


Far Behind, Candlebox, 1993


This song means so much to me. Each and every time I listen to it, I'm taken on a rollercoaster ride of emotion from heartbroken tears of regret and anger to the strength found in the serenity of acceptance.


In the early years of my now defunct marriage, my husband and I were not only figuring out how to be married and how to be parents, we were muddling through just being adults. This song came out during a time in our marriage when neither one of us had a clue who we were or what in the world we were doing. It sounds so cheesy but us bonding over this song was therapeutic. We moved forward together in part because of this song. Ultimately, we were married 17 years and went our separate ways not because of our feelings for each other but because of our extremely different (uncompromising) views on raising our children.


I stand by my belief that a great song is like an orgasm. Or, using less erotic terminology ... as a writer, I see a truly great, satisfying song having the same structure as a great story: an introduction that has an emotional "hook" element, the building of anticipation to the height (pinnacle) of the story followed by a gentle fall into the denouement or resolution.


Listen to Far Behind. I think it's a perfect story/song.


Thoughts?



14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page