top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Album of the Day

Dookie, Green Day, 1994


Happy 30th anniversary, Dookie. Doing life without you the past three decades would have sucked, my friend. Dookie keeps me honest, y'all. Dookie forever reminds me that the human condition isn't always pretty or exciting but it is universal and it is meaningful. Dookie reminds me that even when I'm lonely, I'm not alone. Dookie reminds me that simply living is an adventure. Dookie is pure poetry -- honest, simple, vulnerable, unapologetic brilliance.


Green Day understands how both Dookie and American Idiot not only changed my life 30 and 20 years ago respectively, but how they continue to affect me now. Yeah. Sure, these albums made me, but they are still doing the good work.


Thank you, Billie, Mike, and Tre for understanding what a huge gift it is to fans to perform such transformative works in their entirety live. There's just no greater gift to fans than to convene with our people and become one in the music for a few hours or five. Hell, Billie and the boys ripped through the tracks pretty much matching the pace of an actual spin listen. My ass was kicked in a glorious and exhilarating way that will fuel me for months to come. A once-in-a-lifetime experience -- epic -- period.


Thank you, Green Day. Ten million times, thank you.


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page