top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Album of the Day

Updated: Jun 3, 2023

American Beauty, Grateful Dead, 1970


I've been thinking so much about how music grounds me. That's what I do, you know -- I think. It's not just that, though, music does so much more for me. It encourages me, it inspires me, it soothes me, it energizes me ... yeah, you get the picture. I binged Freaks and Geeks last weekend and American Beauty has been my steadfast companion ever since. Iykyk. What an absolute masterpiece.


Sure, there is a song for every emotion, every mood, and every state of being -- American Beauty pretty much runs that gamut for me in one sitting. It's a pretty perfect album filled with beautifully written heartfelt music that has a genreless wide appeal. How did they do that, y'all? It's magic. It feeds my soul and every single song does so very much for me. 


I don't think I could live without music. Yeah, that's overly dramatic. Let me rephrase, I wouldn't want to live life without music. American Beauty is an absolute necessity of life. Am I wrong?


Happy Saturday! Listen to some Dead today, y'all.



8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page