top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Supplemental post

Updated: Nov 28, 2021

The Wall?



Please excuse my rant ...

Trust me, I'm already a brick in the wall. That "educational mission" was fulfilled decades and decades ago. Now, please give me what I need and what I deserve.


Can we agree that one (major) purpose of organized higher education is to learn? Can we agree that if qualified individuals -- experts, if you will --- are being paid to teach, then they should actually teach? Or, at the very least, they should provide a smidgen of instruction -- right?


When did taking an online course become synonymous with "teach yourself?" I am thoroughly baffled by the massive volume of completely self-guided consumption, digestion, and regurgitation of material demanded by the past two master's level courses I've taken. Apparently, I am a naive dinosaur for expecting to actually learn something while exhausting myself to meet the unrealistic output requirements of these courses.


PS: Absolutely unrealistic workload with no teaching element. Zero. Yes, I'm old but God as my witness, a master's program designed for working adults should not have two papers, a midterm, and a final in addition to weekly assignments --- readings, multiple exercises, and multiple discussion posts with a minimum "reply" requirement. Did you hear me? One class. No teaching element.


I do not get it. It makes no sense.


One last thing, it is laughably logistically ridiculous to have 12-15 sources for a 10-page paper.


End rant.

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page