top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today’s Song of the Day

Dedicated to the One I Love, Mamas and Papas, 1967


I miss my former career in the print news industry every minute of every day. I love my new gig, though, and thank goodness, I have the opportunity to work with our student-produced weekly podcast, SOTA Pop. Our latest episode features a UNA and community public figure, Michelle Rupe Eubanks, whom I’ve considered a very good friend for more than 35 years. I’m becoming very nostalgic in my old age and thinking of my long friendship with Michelle brings back so many good memories.


I have always thought of my dear mother as being the overprotective type. Growing up, I always had a friend or boyfriend by my side during family outings and such but she almost never let me go on outings or road trips with my friends. Fortunately for me, my mother loved the Rupe sisters. It still surprises me to this day but New Year’s weekend 1989, mother let me go with the Rupe family on a road trip to Clearwater, Fla. to see their grandparents. Despite car trouble during the 11-hour trek down and a flat tire on the return trip, three decades later, I’m left with amazing memories from the adventure.


I’m sure I had heard the radio songs by the Mamas and Papas but I had never intentionally listened to the band until this road trip. At first, I remember being a little turned off that they wanted to listen to “old” music. It took about half a second into the Rupes singing along with every word for me to change my mind. I’ve had some good road trip sing-a-longs since then but I don’t think there’s ever been one as epic.


Dedicated to the One I Love lifts me up, sweeps me away, and delivers me into euphoria every single time. As an engulfing experience, it’s a pretty perfect song – so simple, yet so intense and passionate … and the harmonies – absolute satisfaction. After all, isn’t a great song an eargasm?


12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page