top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Ode to my favorite record stores -- intro

Updated: Apr 9, 2022

I never met a record store I didn't like but I'm pretty discerning. I have high standards ... not only does my record collection spin a musical narrative, it tells a story about me. For me, my collection is not about quantity, it's about my connection to each album. Some albums aren't even about the music living in the grooves, it's about how the album found me. I digress ... those are stories for another day.


Right or wrong (no judgements here), I have never bought vinyl on Amazon. I'm not saying I'm above doing that, I just feel pretty strongly about supporting brick and mortar record stores. Conversely, there are physical record stores I no longer support because of toxic experiences. Vinyl collecting is a very dude-centric world, y'all.


The thing about independent record stores is, they each have a distinctive personality. The bins are filled with glorious offerings carefully curated by the hand of an audiophile mastermind. I have a list of go-to record stores that each feed a different craving in the diverse palate of my musical taste.


Dr. Music in Fairhope is my absolute No. 1 favorite record store. Sadly, since it's more than 350 miles from my homebase, I'm only able to visit once or twice a year. It's something I look forward to and Dr. Music never disappoints. The Dr. Music mastermind is my kindred soul. It's the one record store where 80% of what I touch needs to come home with me.


More to come tomorrow on my latest visit to Dr. Music ...


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page