top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Ode to my favorite record stores -- disclaimer

Updated: Apr 9, 2022



Oasis "Sad Song" is spinning on my turntable -- Definitely Maybe finally found its way home with me this weekend.


There are amazing record stores out there that I have never visited. It hurts to admit but truth is, I will likely never visit any of the shops on Spin's 10 Greatest Record Stores list that's recirculating again. I'm actually completely OK with that truth. Such is life. Honestly, I'm sure my favorites actually belong on that list, too.


If you love music, I can't stress enough how important it is to support your local record stores -- which in my case translates to: regional shopping. You see, I lost my local record store a few years back. Pegasus had been with me pretty much my entire life -- more than 30 years. Its closure left a hole I will never be able to fill. I took Pegasus for granted ... I should have done more to support the Flippens.


Records aren't a trendy passing fad for me. They're more like comfort food. When I go to a record store, I mean business. Record stores aren't tourist attractions or a token novelty experience. Record stores are culturally significant cornerstones of our communities, please support them.


(In the spirit of Lady Whistledown ... I must also remind you, dear reader, that I make no apologies for writing what I know. I am not a woman of means and sure, my favorite record stores are regional to my homebase ... as it should be.)


https://youtu.be/zXi8q5WeVAs








15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page