top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day 2

A little more than 24 hours ago, I posted about Kiss and as of right now, Cheri is the only one who has typed the word "gimmick" in her comments. It's funny, one day last week, Jay made a post about The Runaways that used the world "gimmick" to describe the all-female rock band. That post got me thinking about so many things: one of which was Kiss, which is undeniably the very definition of a "gimmick" band. Thus leading to my Monday post. Paul and Gene created the Kiss looks and lore with meticulous intent to be commercially provocative. They did that for their gain.


I've thought a lot about how I have never thought of The Runaways as a "gimmick" band and the word use in the post shocked me. I think of them as pioneers. True, The Runaways were novelties because of their gender paired with their rockstar dreams but they were brought together and exploited by outside sources -- not a gimmick, my friends. Gender is not a gimmick.


It's so strange how we're all so different with different backgrounds and points of view. As I get older, I'm hyper aware of our unrecognized and often unintentional biases that come through in our use of language.




3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page