top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day



Try a Little Tenderness, Otis Redding, 1966


There are a lot of great versions of this song out there. For me, though, Otis is all I need. I love the structure of this song. There's this subtle musical arrangement -- it takes us by the hand and leads us into the song, then before you know it, we're all in. The entire song is a plea that beautifully escalates in urgency.


Remember Jon Cryer's iconic scene from Pretty in Pink?


The way Otis uses his voice as a storytelling instrument is just stunning.


So, I've become that person who could very well go days without using my voice. I really think I could maybe go a week even without having a verbal exchange with another human being that extends beyond routine greetings and niceties.


You know she's weary.


https://youtu.be/uM-SDFM3H00

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page