top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

My Best Friend's Girl, The Cars, 1977


I wish I could remember the exact moment The Cars found me. One thing I know for sure is when I was in sixth grade, my family visited my dad's best friend in the North Carolina mountains. We stayed at his house and he had a kick-ass stereo and a massive vinyl collection. I listened to a LOT of (The) Cars on that trip.


It was the early/almost mid-80s and Mtv was fire ... The Cars were making their mark on the hearts of Gen X via some of the coolest videos ever. Shake It Up was absolutely the first (The) Cars album I owned and I still have it, btw. It was during that trip, though, that I fell in love with The Cars (the self-titled debut album) and Candy-O. It was on that trip that I became The Cars' biggest fan.


I can't commit to having a favorite song of theirs but I love to listen to this cover. The myth is, it was the first song Kurt learned to play on guitar.


PS: That dude's record collection is also the root of my need to surround myself with all my favorite music on vinyl. What a great feeling ... spinning.


10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page