top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

How The Police Schooled Me

SOTD supplement


The first band I ever loved was The Police. It has been one of the most amazing slow burns of my life. I realize in retrospect that not only was The Police likely responsible for my diverse taste in music because of their eccletic style, but the band's music gently schooled me during my (stretch) formidable years.


As with most GenXers, my childhood was an odd mix of assumed parental care and concern paired with little or no communication. I won't disrespect my parents by going so far as to say I raised myself but the nurturing and guidance was limited to tangible necessities. That's a conversation for another day and truthfully, I'm very pleased with the person I am due to the road I've traveled.


Three songs by The Police that exposed me to topics no adult would have ever discussed with me during childhood:

1. Roxanne, 1978

I was 7 when Roxanne came out but since I lived in the Deep South, it was likely at least a year later before it reached my ears. I loved this song the very first time I heard it. I had no idea what the lyrics meant and it didn't matter. I was probably a little bit older when I had a red lightbulb moment and understood what it was about. I was really young when I devoured Agatha Christie and Alfred Hitchcock books ... pretty sure a red light district reference by one of those authors helped me piece together facets of the world's oldest profession.


2. Don't Stand So Close to Me, 1980

Although I was 9 when Don't Stand So Close to Me came out, it wasn't until a year or so later that Mtv made it part of my everyday life. Whereas Roxanne's lyrics originally escaped my immature understanding of the world, this wasn't the case with Don't Stand So Close to Me. Not only are the lyrics straightforward, the video made the theme even more crystal clear. Right or wrong, I internalized the message as being one of blame on the young girl for making the hot teacher want her. For what it's worth, though, the overarching message received was ... that type of relationship is wrong. So many lessons learned.


3. Every Breath You Take, 1983

Ahhh ... the joy of being 12 years old and knowing your favorite band has created one of the greatest songs of all time. I've learned a multitude of lessons from this song over the years. It wouldn't be too much of a stretch to proclaim I've learned a different life lesson with each listen. It keeps giving and giving. Whereas the song has at times reassured me that deep love exists in the world, Every Breath You Take has warned me many times over against the dangers of that love. It teaches me today by reminding me that I am not a piece of property.


Thank you, Sting, Andy, and Stewart, for raising me right.


https://youtu.be/KNIZofPB8ZM


9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page