top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Updated: Oct 9, 2021

Essence, Lucinda Williams, 2001


It's funny how things work out sometimes. This past weekend was Shoalsfest in my town and I wasn't even a little tempted to go. It had a little to do with the pandemic, but I mostly just didn't want to go. Sure, it was a strong bill heavy with some of my favorite artists but I've seen most of them before so ... meh. Turns out, I couldn't have gone anyway because I've been sick.


Seeing pics of Lucinda Williams' performance from Saturday night did strike a chord with me, though. I guess it was maybe 2009 when I saw her at the Alabama Theatre. Lu's a hoot, y'all. It was an experience. I swear, she was pretty out of it when I saw her. She made me think of a folky version of Courtney Love. It was great. First show I had ever been to where people stayed seated the whole time. Very memorable night indeed.


This is my favorite Lucinda Williams song ...


https://youtu.be/6Kd3Y-anRlM


11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page