top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today’s Song of the Day


The Joke, Brandi Carlile, 2017


We went to the beach this past week and I read Carole King's memoir. I think Brandi Carlile is so similar to Carole King. She's such a powerhouse talent herself and she is a strong female in the industry who inspires and helps other artists find their way.


You know, there is such a thing as an instant classic. It's that song you hear for the first time and yet it feels familiar. It grabs you in a way that keeps holding you time and again. The Joke does that for me.


Time will tell if The Joke is Brandi's magnum opus ... personally, I think she has so much more left in her. For me, it is absolutely an instant classic, though.


Start your Saturday with The Joke.


PS: Rolling Stone's new list of the 500 greatest songs of all time is a joke.


https://youtu.be/5r6A2NexF88

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page