top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

I Think I'm Paranoid, Garbage, 1998


"Bend me, break me, anyway you need me -- all I want is you" ... that's what's in my head to start this Saturday. I hear that jaunty little guitar riff with its dreamy prayerlike cadence -- I'm here for it. This song is pretty perfect and I'm glad it found me this morning. It has one of the best opening sequences ever ... "You can look but you can't touch, I don't think I like you much. Heaven knows what a girl can do." Right?


Y'all, Shirley Manson is a next level human. Yes, her talent is beyond compare but she is a unique creature with a mystifying magnetic energy that is honest, powerful, and nourishing. Oh my goodness at Shirley's spirit. Hero worship worthy.


Garbage is a next level band, too. You know they've been together 30 years, right? I love how Butch Vig and the guys are American and Shirley is so very Scottish. That adds an interesting spin to their narrative. I love how the guys were together first and they chose Shirley. She's their penguin. Yeah she is. She's my penguin, too. Infinity.


Shirley Manson is one of the greatest frontmen ever. Spread the word and have a very Garbage Saturday!


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page