top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

You're My Waterloo, The Libertines, 2015


I'll tell you one thing -- Pete Doherty gives me hope for tomorrow. Yes. My darling, Pete. The simple fact that Pete is still alive -- despite everything -- that's some miracle level grace and faith that can only serve to encourage all mere mortals.


I turn to the Libertines when life feels too tumultuous. Pete and Carl (Barat) have been with me for pretty much 25 years now -- sometimes, they've been the devil and angel respectively sitting on each of my shoulders as we've grown up together. Choices.


"Just say you love me -- give me three good reasons and I'll throw you the rope." Ahh. One of my all-time favorite lyrics. This lyric/this song has always moved me to tears. This song is Pete's love letter to Carl -- he's his waterloo. That's pretty obvious, right?


Mercy at Pete and Carl and their thick or thin tied together until the end of time sort of lifetime commitment. Their friendship is a Waterloo vow for sure -- together forever come hell or high water. Choices.


What a tremendous feeling it is to emerge from one of life's battles victorious with your trusty soulmate still steadfast by your side. That's the narrative we're writing together -- we're surviving more than one life -- "well I've been sitting here for hours, baby, just chasing these words across the page." -30-


Never forget: You're my waterloo.


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page