top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Maps, Yeah Yeah Yeahs, 2003


Some songs exist to keep us moving forward. Case in point = Maps. Even when the thorns of life continually grow around us attempting to block our paths, songs like Maps help us inch forward. Yes. (You got that visual from Sleeping Beauty, right?) Oh say say say. This song is so powerful, y'all. It's a love song to love.


Wait. Hear that drumbeat? Lullaby. Mantra. Don't even try to resist. Thank you, Maps, for gently coaxing me through the motions as I reconcile with this reprehensible reality. This song is that warm embrace you didn't even know you needed. This song is that one trusted hand you reach for in the dark. Hello, soulmate. I'm following the sound of your voice. Be my guide.


Wait. So very, y'all. Listening to Maps shakes me awake and reminds me why I have zero patience for all this BS. I have zero capacity to feign tolerance. I've simply outgrown all the unnecessary noise.


Love is all that matters, friends. No matter your daily walk -- love is the answer ... even if they don't love you like you love them, keep on loving.


To My Angus: Please Stay -- from your Emmy O.


Shouting, "Because I can be! Jealous much?" IYKYK

BTW -- Happy Monday!


8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page