top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Kaleidoscope, Chappell Roan, 2023


My brain is the musical version of a kaleidoscope right now. What a great way to wake up. Does it get any better than having a parade of Chappell Roan songs serving as an internal alarm clock? Obsessed.


The Rise and Fall of a Midwest Princess came out last year but there's no denying that it's the album of summer 2024. I've participated in so many exhilarating Chappell Roan discussions here lately. There's an excitement around her and her music that I haven't seen and/or felt in ages. Ages, I say. Love. Love. Love.


Don't sleep on Chappell Roan, friends. Don't pass on the opportunity to have her splendor in your life. Don't get caught in the trap of thinking she's just serving some run-of-the-mill dime-a-dozen trendy throwaway pop. No! No! No! She's the real deal. She's a powerhouse singer/songwriter that has depth and a natural talent that creates a new style of pop that feels so very. So very, I say.


Chappell Roan is a storyteller with a pop prowess like I've never seen before. Her voice is so rich and full and warm. What I love most about her voice, though, is how it is theatrical but it has a twang that is so reminiscent of classic country. She expresses herself in a way that feels familiar to me. Her lyrics are poetic but they don't sound like someone singing poems -- her poems aren't songs, her songs are poetry. You know what I mean?


So ... stop what you're doing and listen to Rise and Fall of a Midwest Princess. Trust me. Do it. No regrets. Embrace happiness.


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page