top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Typical Girls, The Slits, 1979


Let's talk about The Slits. Let's talk about Viv Albertine. Have you listened to The Slits? Have you read Viv's memoir? This is one of my all-time favorite songs. Stop blindly following the patriarchal narrative. Look to your left and look to your right -- typical girls are everywhere waiting to rebel. They're secretly writing the real story of human existence, I promise.


Yes, my spirit is still so very punk rock but my actions are so very memaw these days. I've even aged out of having any desire to wait in line for hours for pretty much anything -- even Record Store Day. Now, don't get me wrong, I'm not taking any sort of blanket stance against doing such a thing ever again but odds are super low of me choosing to subject myself to that scenario on the regular. It's pretty safe to say you will never find me camping out overnight on the sidewalk outside my favorite record store to be the first inside on RSD -- I see you, Jay.


The Record Store Day special releases list is so so so good this year, though, and I will visit several of my local/regional shops today once the initial frenzy subsides. The Slits "In The Beginning" tops my RSD wishlist this year with Blur's "Parklife" 30th anniversary special release coming in a close second.


Support your local record store, y'all.

Happy RSD and happy hunting!


8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page