top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

A Girl Like You, Edwyn Collins, 1994


This is a "I fell in love at first listen" song. There's just something about it -- it's an entire mood, y'all. Hearing it activates my trippy go-go dancer side every single time. In my mind, I become the girl in a Pucci micro mini doing the jerk lost in a slow motion world. It makes me feel somewhat sinister, too, like the femme fatale in a classic Bond movie. Maybe it's the melding of all the slightly distorted traditional instrument sounds that makes it feel like a glorious fever dream. Maybe? Or, it could just be the sounds of an incredibly perfect storm.


This song is about me -- you have most definitely never known a girl like me before. Never, never, never, never. It's so funny to think about how we're all so different. No two people are the same -- it's not even possible. Let that sink in. Opposites may attract but our similarities draw us in closer and bond us together. It's life in 4D, right? Let's celebrate each other!


Happy Saturday!


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page