top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Do You Love Me Now? The Breeders, 1993


This is one of my all-time favorite songs on one of my all-time favorite albums by one of my all-time favorite bands written by two of my all-time favorite artists. It's such a straightforward, simple song raw with the honesty of heartbreaking emotion. Listen closely -- it's actually a desparate love song. "Come back to me right now" ... theres's no telling how many times I've turned to this song for comfort, hope, and fuel for a second (third, fourth, fifth ...) wind. Truthfully, this song is my life's undeniable theme song.


The Breeders' sophomore album, Last Splash, celebrated its 30th anniversary this past week. 30. That's super surreal to me. Doing that math tells me I was only 22 when the album came out. 22. Seriously. I'm at a point in my life where it's difficult for me to believe I was ever that young. I look to my rock heroes and see them aging as the beautiful badassess that they are -- Kim and Kelley Deal, y'all, still coming in hot at 62. Goals.


Happy Saturday!



4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page